Our Board

The NSPIRG Board of Directors stewards the direction of the organization and manages its resources. Board Members make financial, funding, hiring, and budget decisions, direct strategic and organizational planning, and manage staff. They are responsible for ensuring that the organization is meeting the needs of student members and the broader community in assisting organized efforts to address inequality, pursue social change and practice environmental justice.

The NSPIRG Board of Directors are volunteers elected by students of Dalhousie University and the University of King’s College, in separate elections. The board is comprised of 3 – 5 Dalhousie students (elected by their peers), 2 – 3 King’s students (elected by their peers), and 1 – 3 Community, or Associate, Members (elected by both student bodies).

Becoming a Board Member with NSPIRG is a great way to gain experience working with non-profit organizations. It provides greater familiarity with social movement and community organization; engagement of social movement and community organization; experience in consensual and anti-oppressive group processes; increased awareness of social and environmental justices issues; and understanding of the link between research, education and action for social change.

NSPIRG Board Responsibilities Include:

  • Attending regularly scheduled board meetings (generally biweekly)
  • Upholding the anti-oppression values of the organization and maintaining a demonstrated commitment to social and environmental justice
  • Sitting on one or more of the board’s committees, which review items related to their focus and report back to the board (committees change from year to year but may include: finances, funding, policy, resources, human resources)
  • Taking an active role in the organization and/or its working groups
  • Acting as employers for NSPIRG staff
  • Upholding the NSPIRG Bylaws
  • Liasing with the Dalhousie  and Kings Students Unions

Board elections are held once a year. The Board term currently runs from May 1st to April 30.

NSPIRG 2017-2018 Board of Directors

Laura Cutmore

Lily Barraclough

Andrew Lam

Kathleen Olds

Jad Sinho

Jess Lene

Helen Timbo

Angel Moore

Karli Zschögner


To contact the 2017/18 BoD, email board@nspirg.ca.

NSPIRG 2016-2017 Board of Directors

Laura Cutmore
Casey Meijer
Beatrix Yuan
Mathew Green
Zoe Bordeleau-Cass
Rebecca Lash
Angela Hou

NSPIRG 2015-2016 Board of Directors

Jevin Jeyaveerasingam
Holly Lobsinger
Liv Bochenek
Tameera Mohamed
Brogan Carruthers
Ali Calladine
Gabe Goodman

NSPIRG 2014-2015 Board of Directors

Ali Calladine
Jevin Jeyaveerasingam
Shannon Turner
Tori Jestin
Murray Hancock
Tori Ball
Holly Lobsinger

NSPIRG 2013-2014 Board of Directors

Alia Karim
Amanda Dickie
Anna Bishop
Katlin Moore
Olivia Bibby
Omri Haiven
Rachelle McKay

NSPIRG 2013-2014 Board Minutes

May 14, 2013
May 20, 2013 Special Meeting
June 25, 2013
September 5, 2013
September 18, 2013
October 16, 2013
October 30, 2013
November 13, 2013
January 24, 2014


NSPIRG 2016/2017 Strategic Vision

We, the Board of Directors and Staff of NSPIRG aspire to:

  • Continuously review our policies and practices with a critical, anti-oppressive lens in an attempt to decolonize our work.
  • Actively advocate for social and environmental justice through our projects, Working Groups, community partnerships, and outreach.
  • Create accessible, safer spaces built on the values of equity and inclusion.




Dalhousie Student Union Building   6136 University Avenue, Room B24 – Halifax NS B3H 4J2
NSPIRG would like to acknowledge our office is located on ancestral and unceded territory of the Mi’kmaq People

E-Newsletter Sign-up

Sign up for our general mailing list and receive NSPIRG related news and information right directly to your inbox. The "*" indicates a required field.

() - (###) ###-####